The Cycle of Pride 6-16-2014

 

But before I forget….¡Feliz día del Padre! Es tarde pero no pude entrar al internet ayer, lo siento papá. Espero que lo hayas pasado bien. La segunda foto en esta carta tomé especialmente para ti.

 
So I came up with this analogy to explain what’s going on right now with us and in our area. In the Book of Mormon there is this pride cycle. (Try and read that whole book without getting a little frustarted with those dang Nephites!) The Lord blesses the people when they’re being good and keeping the commandments, so they start to get prosperous. They’re really happy for a while, and they’ve got everything they need so they start to get prideful and start doing their own thing and forget about the commandments. So then they go through their wicked stage before they realize they have to repent and then they start being good again and the blessings return. Well the pride cycle of Alameda 1 started a couple months ago when I got to the area. Things were going alright, but then Hermana Mack and I started working hard and we were on fire and everybody was progressing and we were happy and getting along splendidly and had 5 baptisms in one month. So we got a little prideful and kind of forgot to keep looking for new people….and last week the last of our group was finally able to get baptized and Hermana Avendaño and I realized we didn’t have anyone left to teach besides recent converts and less actives. So this week we entered the repentance stage of the cycle and spent a loooot of time searching. It was a little rough and I may or may not have been a little low on ánimos. But it’s cool….we know that the prosperous stage isn’t too far away and this time we know what we’ve got to do to not fall again.
 
Eduardo got a calling yesterday…he’s the new second counselor in the Young Men’s presidency! Woohoo! He told me to tell you all hi. 
 
Hermana Sagástegui is on her way home right now so that’s a little crazy and like I say every week the time is passing faster and faster…..transfer calls are tonight and I wonder where I’ll be. I obviously want to stay here…one reason being Alameda is missionary dreamland. The people are so receptive and the ward is extremely supportive….yesterday the elder’s quorom president handed me a list of all the days and times that people can come with us to appoinments. And our room is really awesome…..and I’m in love with the people of course. Also I have poured my life into this area book. Mom I’m pretty sure that’s what finally turned me into an organized person by the way, getting so frustrated with the kinds of conditions other missionaries leave all the teaching records and information that goes in there so now I’m OCD about it. But I figured out that Heavenly Father doesn’t give me what I want if I pray to stay in an area or with a companion…(I miss Hermana Mack soooo much) so instead I just pray that I’ll accept His will whatever it may be. It works better that way. Besides, I did get to come to a foreign country and speak Spanish which was what I really wanted so I am pretty happy with that! Also I never would have wanted to leave Salamanca but if I didn’t I would never have gotten to be here in Alameda so I’m cool with whatever. 
 
Did you all know how important you are to me? It’s a lot! Yesterday we ate lunch with the Ñañas and started off their goal to read the Book of Mormon together as a family and it was just nice to be with them on Father’s day and everyday I just feel more and more grateful for my own family. And I wish that I could have family prayer and scripture study with you and think what a dummy I was for being hard about it sometimes. Anyway, LOVE YOU GUYS. 
 
Til next Monday.
Love from Lima,
Hermana Villarini
Leave a Reply

