Grateful to be a missionary!

So the coolest thing ever happened this week. On Friday Russell M. Nelson came and spoke to us! Wow, it was just awesome is all I can really say. I was sitting in the very first row and when he asked for a few volunteers you can bet I ran right up there! I was standing right between him and his beautiful wife for a few minutes while he talked and asked some of us questions. He was totally holding my hand, no big deal! Okay yes, BIG DEAL. He asked for 5 volunteers twice and the first time I didn’t get up there. The question he asked the first 5 people was what they were most grateful for. I was sitting there regretting not going up at first so you can bet the next time he called for a few missionaries I was out of my seat in no time! But I wanna tell you what I would have answered for the first question.
 
I am SO grateful to be a missionary. I haven’t even left the MTC yet but I have already come to love this gospel and it’s message more than I really imagined I could have. It’s definitely hard just like everyone told me it would be, but I know it’s worth it. I thought to myself the other day, what would I be doing if I was home now? Just be back at BYU I guess…and don’t get me wrong BYU is a great place to be but I am just thrilled to be in Peru doing something so much more important. I had a few really great days in a row though so I just hope I can remember how I feel right now cause I know it will get tough again. Speaking of which, I REALLY need to write in my journal. I haven’t since the plane. Woops…está bien. (That’s my district’s favorite thing to say.) Actually maybe it’s “Jesus paid for our fish.” In Spanish “pescados” is fish and “pecados” is sins…it’s a confusing word for some haha.
 
Can anyone believe I’ve been here for a month now? Cause I can’t! That means I only have 2 weeks left in the MTC. CRAAAAZYYYYY. But I think I’m ready. For the last two weeks I’m getting a new companion and will be in a district of all latinos and speak only Spanish…pray for me even harder now haha. Just kidding I’m excited about it. And super excited to be in the field soon.
 
On Saturday we got to go proselyting in Lima North again. I loved it! Last time we pretty much just talked to a bunch of people who told us to come back another time and we gave away a few pamphlets but this time I was in a couple real lessons with members that haven’t been active for years. It’s kind of amazing how much Spanish I can speak when I know that they won’t understand me in English. I feel pretty comfortable with the language but I can’t wait to get even better. This was one of the times that just made me realize how much I love the gospel…I just wanted the people we talked with to know how important it is for them because Heavenly Father and Jesus Christ love them SO much!
 
I fall more in love with Lima and speaking Spanish every Pday that we get to go out shopping and to the temple. I may have to keep reminding myself that I’m not here on vacation!
 
Also, I want to tell you about how insane riding the bus over to the temple is. But I don’t have time. But now that I started I will have to tell you about it next week for sure haha.
 
Love you all so very much!
 
Mucho amor,
Hermana V
Leave a Reply

