Week 2 – Learning A LOT!

Woah have I seriously been here for two weeks?! Craaazzyyyyyy!!!!
 
Okay so I really hated emailing last week cause I was so sad I couldn’t just stay emailing everyone forever! And it was just a rough day in general because of other things but can I just say that God was SO aware of me? I was seriously really upset and discouraged and that night I got TWO letters! They were miracles that lifted me right back up! No one could believe that I’d already gotten mail haha.
 
This week I’ve learned A TON. First things first, being a missionary doesn’t automatically make you a more spiritual person. Go figure, right?! I need to meet God halfway and do my part by working hard and doing all the things I’ll ask people I teach to do – pray and read my scriptures and have faith! One day I skipped my personal prayer in the morning and oh man, there was a HUGE difference in how I felt. Pray! That’s my advice for everyone this week. Pray and then do what you know you need to do.
 
Last Saturday they actually took us out to the Lima North mission to do some real teaching! It was so cool – and scary haha. I realized as I was walking around in the real world with my nametag that has Jesus Christ’s name on it what a huge responsibility I have to represent him and teach such important truths. It’s a big job! It’s amazing that the Lord trusts me to help with this work but I know He will help me. Even though I have a WAY easier time with Spanish than a lot of missionaries here, I couldn’t help but think to myself a few times that this would be so much easier in English! But I love that doing everything in Spanish helps me focus on the simple truths of the Gospel.
 
A couple Peru facts for you – the sky isn’t blue in Lima. It’s just white all the time because it’s so cloudy but at night it’s purple and looks AMAZING! Also there is this amazing drink called maracuya that I looove! I think it’s passionfruit. And they have strawberry juice that literally tastes like you’re drinking a fresh strawberry! Soooo good.
 
It’s weird but I feel naked when I don’t wear a watch now.
 
The Lima temple is so wonderful!
 
We watched this great devotional talk by David Bednar where he talked about this story from Elder Packer called the 20 mark note. Try and look it up cause it’s AWESOME.
 
I’ve earned the title of “Sass Master” in my district. Don’t worry, I’m Hermana V now but still Amanda on the inside. 😉
 
Crap one minute to go….but I want to say sooooo much more! But at least I got to send pictures and each one of those is worth a thousand words. Ahhhhh someday I will fill you in on all the details that are missing from these emails haha. Or maybe when I call at Christmas which is in less than 2 months! Yay!
 
¡Besos y abrazos!
Hermana Villarini
 
PS. Oh yeah the “real life” thing is from another way good devotional from Holland where he talked about how sometimes we may think being on a mission isn’t real life but actually it’s the most REAL life is ever gonna get! Cause this gospel is what it’s all about. Jesus Christ is the way, the truth, and the LIFE.
Leave a Reply

